Select Page

The Taraba State House of Assembly has confirmed the appointment of Hassan Bappa as Commissioner nominee from Jalingo LGA in the State Executive Council.


Also confirmed were the board members of the Taraba State Independent Electoral Commission (TSIEC), the Local Government Service Commission and the State Universal Basic Education Board (TSUBEB).

In a plenary session presided over by the Speaker Rt Rt. Hon. Abel Peter Diah which held at the hollow chambers of the House, all the nominees had an easy passage with only a few having to be probed by the members.

Dr. Philip Duwe scaled through as Chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission alongside eight commissioners while Dr. Jonah Kataps was cleared as Chairman,  Local Government Service Commission.

The House however, had to follow Order 5 rule 19(5) which states that the House could not sit beyond 1 ‘O’clock and this prompted the House to immediately usher in the State Universal Basic Education Board (TSUBEB) Chairman nominee, Dr. Yakubu Agbaizo and three members of the board. Following after this, all the nominees were unanimously approved by the House.

In appreciation to a job well done, the Speaker thanked the House and directed the Clerk of the House, Ismailu Ukwen Tentason to communicate to the Executive Governor, Arc Darius Dickson Ishaku on the new development.

Meanwhile, the Chairman of the State Universal Basic Education Board (TSUBEB), Dr Yakubu Agbaizo, said that the reason for the poor welfare of teachers in the state occasioned by non-payment of teachers’ salaries was due to the falling price of oil which was the mainstay of Nigerian economy.

The TSUBEB boss made this disclosure to newsmen after his screening today (yesterday), at the House of Assembly complex.

He acknowledged the fact that primary school education is a priority to the present rescue mission of Governor Darius Ishaku and so is the welfare of primary school teachers an utmost priority.

Dr Agbaizo further stressed that his new team is passionate to restore the lost glory in our public schools.