Select Page

The non-availability of voters register and the ‘plethora’ of petitions at the tribunal after the 2015 elections, have been identified as factors responsible for the inability of the state government  to hold Local Government elections in Taraba state in line with the constitution.

Election in nigeriaThis was made known by the Governor of Taraba state, Arc Darius Dickson Ishaku, in a letter addressed to the Taraba state House of Assembly, requesting the extension of tenure of Local Government Councils Caretaker Transition Committees in the state.

According to the governor, these reasons made it necessary to ‘extend the tenure of the local Government Councils Caretaker Transition Committees by additional three months’.

‘One of the conditions precedent for election of Local Government Councils is the availability of voter’s register at the corridor of Taraba state Independent Electoral Commission. Due to the plethora of petitions at the tribunal after the 2015 elections, it was practically impossible for the Taraba state Independent Electoral Commission to obtain the required legal documents for the local Government Council Elections. Pursuant to the successful bye elections by INEC last month, it is evident that all matters connected to general elections by INEC has been put to rest. Good enough, the Taraba state Independent Electoral Commission, (TSIEC), has been recently constituted preparatory to conduct the elections’, the letter read.

The letter which was signed by Governor Darius Dickson Ishaku, added that, ‘whereas the tenure of the Caretaker Transition Committees of Taraba state would expire on the 18/5/016 and pursuant to the powers conferred on me under Section 38a, Subsection (1), (2) and (3) of the Local Government Law 2002 as amended and all other powers enabling me in that behalf…. Do hereby extend the tenure of the Local Government Councils’ Caretaker Transition Committees by additional 3 months’.

However, the letter which was accompanied by names of Chairmen and Councillors of the 16 local Government Councils, was read at plenary by the Speaker, Peter Abel Diah. Some amendments were however, made by the House with regards to names in the list.

Meanwhile, the names of Chairmen sent to the House and approved by it are as follows: Ardo Kola, Philemon Bitah; Bali, Danladi Danfulani Suntai; Donga, Barnabas Ibrahim; Gashaka, Mohammed Umar Gayam; Gassol, Yahuza Yayau; Ibi, Adashos Jonathan Adasho; Jalingo, Nasiru Bobboji; Karim Lamido, Idi Danfulani Marley; Kurmi, Ibrahim Stephen Agya; Lau, Nicholas W. Hassan; Sardauna, Mohammed Tepsy Warwar; Takum, Shiba Tilari; Ussa, Bitrus Garim; Wukari, Daniel Adi Grace; Yorro, Zakari Buba Nyala and  Zing, Hanawa Musa Dong.

In another development, the Taraba state Thuggery and Other Related Offences Amendment Law 2016, being sponsored by Peter Abel Diah, PDP, Mbamnga constituency, has passed through first reading.

The Bill was laid on the floor of the House at Wednesday’s plenary by Charles Maijankai, PDP, Karim 1, on behalf of the Sponsor.

The Bill was then referred to the Business and Rules Committee for consideration.