Select Page

Taraba state Government today inaugurated a six-man Committee to look into the TECHNOBAT Housing Units Mile six and make useful suggestions that will help the state Government.

Inaugurating the Committee, the Secretary to Taraba state Government, Anthony Jellason said the committee has ten terms of reference to work with, which includes ascertaining how much Taraba state government gave to Resort Savings and Loan Plc to construct the Housing units at mile 6 by Technobat Construction Company and to establish if the monies were sourced from Bank loan or otherwise.

The committee is also to ascertain the total number of Housing Units constructed by the Company as well as ascertain how much the company has paid back to Taraba state government coffers and the total number of housing units occupied by tenants.

The six-man team is also to look at the rentage payable to the company by tenants per the number of rooms or flats, either two bedrooms or three bedrooms respectively.

Other areas is the verification of contractual agreement signed by the Taraba state Government and the company and to advise accordingly and to also review various contracts entered into during the execution of the mile 6 housing estate and other related housing schemes in the state.

Also, the committee is to review management contract between the Taraba state Government and Taraba state resort savings and loans Limited as well as ascertaining the number of houses so far disposed by resort savings and loans Limited under the estate management agreement.

The six-man team is also saddled with task of recommending other ways to assist the state government to fully recover all the money that are outstanding from tenants and resort savings and loans Limited.

The inaugurated committee members included Rebo Usman Chief of Staff Government House as Chairman of the committee while Bitrus Yerima MD of Taraba Investment and Property Limited, Aminu Mamman MD Taraba Savings and Loan Limited are to serve as members.

Other members of the committee are Christopher Shaki from the state Ministry of Health, Hon. Sule Ndigmay and Barr. Yusuf Akirikwen Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice of the state.

The six-man committee has two weeks to submit its report to Government.