Select Page

Government Inaugurates Shomo/Jole Administrative Panel

As part of finding lasting peace to the lingering communal clash between the Shomo/Jole communities in Lau local government area, Taraba State Government today inaugurated a nine man administrative panel to wade into the crisis rocking the fishing communities.

Inaugurating the panel in his office, Secretary to the State Government, Mr Anthony Jelason, charged them to bring to bear their wealth of experience and do a thorough job in this regard.

According to Mr Jelason, the Governor, Arc. Darius Dickson Ishaku is very interested in bringing lasting peace to citizens of the state thereby urging the committee
members to see this as a challenge requiring diligence, dedication and utmost patriotism.

“I urge you to exhibit a high sense of patriotism and dedication and do all you can to get to the root of the matter and ensure you submit a comprehensive report at the end of your assignment”. He added.

Responding, chairman of the panel, Barrister Matuidi Isa, assured the Secretary to the State Government of the committees’ readiness to hit the ground running and exhume past reports in order to come up with a document that will enable government find the best possible measure towards bringing lasting peace to the feuding communities.

Terms of reference of the panel includes;

To find out the remote and immediate causes of the crisis;

To find out whether any individual or group of individuals are involved in the crisis;

To find out the number of communities that are adversely affected by the crisis;

To determine the level and extent of destruction done by the crisis and how it can be overcome in future.

Members of the committee includes Barr Matuidi Isa who will serve as chairman with Douglas Dogari as Secretary of the panel. Others are Mr Boyinga Sanda, Hon Nicholas Waniyafiwani, Adamu Haaaan, I.D Ibrahim representing the DSS, Abubakar Muri representing NSCDC, DSP Samuel Tizhe Nigeria Police Force and Barr. Nuhu Tanko representing the ministry of Justice respectively.

The committee has four weeks to submit it’s report.