Select Page

The Taraba State Governor, Darius Dickson Ishaku has challenged the Nigeria Medical Association NMA, to always identify with Nigerians that have contributed to the upliftment of the health sector in the country.

Governor Darius Ishaku said this when he was honoured with a distinguished award by the Nigeria Medical Association,NMA, at the International Conference Center,Abuja.

He stressed that,” inview of the enormity of challenges faced by the health sector, it has become expedient for leaders and other well meaning Nigerians to  collaborate to proactively reposition the health sector to enable it meet the health needs of the people.”

According to him, the award bestowed on him by the NMA would spur him to do more for the sector by ensuring that the people of Taraba State get the best health care delivery services.

He used the opportunity to thank the NMA for the award and charged Medical Workers in the Country, to rededicate themselves to effective service delivery  to complement huge government investment in healthcare facilities across the country.

Speaking Earlier, the outgone Chairman of the Nigeria Medical Association, NMA, Professor Mike Ogirima stated that the Governors who were presented with the distinguished merit NMA award were considered based on their track records in infrastructural development, manpower enhancement and other programmes that have stimulated effective healthcare services across board.

Professor Ogirima commended Governor Darius Ishaku and his Yobe State counterpart for their various interventions in the health sector despite the high level of insurgency in the Northeast coupled with incessant herdsmen and farmers clashes.

Others who received the NMA distinguished award 2018 were the Governor of Sokoto State Aminu Tambuwal and wife of Kebbi State Governor, Zainab Bagudu among others.

Meanwhile, the Nigeria Medical Association NMA has elected Francis Adedayo as their new National President, while Kenneth Tijos Mingeh from Taraba State becomes the First Vice President from the Northeast.

The Deputy Governor, Haruna Manu, Speaker of the Taraba State House of Assembly, Abel Peter Diah, Senators and members of the House of Representatives and other top government functionaries attended the award ceremony.