Select Page
“We Will Reposition Agriculture as Bedrock of the Economy in Taraba State” – Gov. Ishaku

“We Will Reposition Agriculture as Bedrock of the Economy in Taraba State” – Gov. Ishaku

Taraba State Governor, Arc. Darius Dickson Ishaku has assured that his administration remains resolute in its determination to reposition agriculture as the bedrock of the state’s economy.

Ishaku who spoke in Government House, Jalingo, on Friday during the inauguration of the Governing Council of the College of Agriculture and the swearing in ceremony of the chairman and members of the State Independent Electoral Commission, SIEC, said inspite of the challenges posed by insecurity and communal crises in the state, his administration has made significant progress in repositioning agriculture as a lucrative enterprise.

He said many people in the state were now into farming business on various scales and levels as a result of which Taraba State has joined the league of major producers of rice, maize, beniseed, soya beans and cassava, among others.

He said his government’s efforts in promoting agriculture has resulted in a situation whereby Taraba State is now contributing substantially to the food needs of the country.

The Governor said the ultimate goal of the state is to produce enough rice to meet the needs of the country and save the country the huge expenditure on importation.

He assured that his administration will assist farmers to secure financial assistance from local and international financial institutions to boost food production.

Governor Ishaku urged the Governing Council of the College of Agriculture to key into this policy of government for quicker results and advised the Council of the institution to come up with innovative ideas that can help farmers become more productive.

The Governing Council of the institution is headed by Dr Muhammed Shatta, a former minister.

Turning to the board of SIEC, Governor Ishaku praised the organisation for consistently asserting its independence and for conducting elections that were free, fair and credible.

He urged the commission to remain focused and should not be distracted by false accusations.

The board of SIEC is headed by Dr Phillip Duwe who also spoke on behalf of the two boards that were inaugurated.

Dr Duwe praised the Governor for always being meticulous in the choice of those who work with him and advised him not to listen to gossips.

He said that those of them honoured with these appointments would not disappoint the Governor “because we know that with every responsibility given, there are expectations.”

– By Bala Dan Abu,
Special Adviser to the Governor.
(Media and Publicity)

Gov. Ishaku Inaugurates Taraba State Covid-19 Action Recovery and Economic Stimulus Steering Committee

Gov. Ishaku Inaugurates Taraba State Covid-19 Action Recovery and Economic Stimulus Steering Committee

Governor Darius Dickson Ishaku has inaugurated the state action recovery and economic stimulus (CARES) Committee at the Government House Chambers Jalingo.

The Governor addressing the members of the committee said the COVID-19 ACTION RECOVERY AND ECONOMIC STIMULUS (CARES) is a World Bank programme initiated by the Federal Government and the Nigerian Governor’s Forum (NGF) to mitigate the impact of covid-19 pandemic.

He said it is an intervention programme that is built on the platforms of existing projects of the Federal Government of Nigeria which include National Cash Transfer Programme (NCTP), Youth Empowerment and Social Support Operations (YESSO), Community and Social Development Project (CSDP) FADAMA and Government Enterprise and Empowerment Programme (GEEP).

He said that the NG-CARES is designed to restore livelihood of the poor and vulnerable, maintain food security and facilitate recovery of Micro and Small Enterprises to achieve some of the key objectives of the Federal Government’s Economic Sustainability Plan (ESP).

“This program no doubt is in line with the Rescue Agenda being pursued vigorously by this administration. For this reason, in our strive to provide basic needs of life amidst scarcity of funds, we will not hesitate to leverage on any resources to meet our ambition especially the kind that will lift people out of poverty,” said the Governor.

According to the govrnor, the program has three result areas each comprising four Disbursement Linked Indicators (DLIs) (i.e. targets set for intervention) which are; increased social transfers, basic services, and livelihood support to poor and vulnerable households; increasing food security and safe functioning of food supply chains; facilitating recovery; and enhancing capabilities of small and medium enterprises.

Taraba state chose four (4) out of the Twelve (12) DLIs based on the state’s needs, ease of delivery and the resources available which are; Community and Group investment to be implemented by Community and Social Development Project (CSDP); Food Security and livelihood to be implemented by FADAMA III; Conditional Grants to SMEs to be implemented by Small and Medium Enterprises (SME) and Livelihood Grants to be implemented by Special Grant Transfer (SGT).

“Let me reiterate that the programme is tagged Programme for Result (PforR), therefore, does not reward uncompleted effort because it is result based.


“For this reason, all hands must be on deck in order to achieve optimally.”


“While I urged you to discharge your responsibilities in accordance with the World Bank/Federal Government protocol agreements, I as well direct all government agencies and the public to give this programme all the support needed for smooth operation.”

Members of the committee are as follows;

1. Hon. Solomon B. Elisha (Comm. of Budget Planning) – Chairman

2. Dr. David A. Kassa (Comm. of Agric. & Nat. Res.) – Member

3. Dr. Jesse Adi Ashumate (Comm of Finance) – Member

4. Hon. Yusuf Tanimu Njeke (Comm. of Commerce and Ind.) – Member

5. Hon. Jethro Yakubu (Comm. of Poverty Alleviation) – Member

6. Hon. Hauwa K. Andeyatso (Comm. of Women Affairs) – Member

7. Mr. Kaka N Sale (Permanent Sec. MOF) – Member

8. Tijjani S. Magaji (Director of Budget) – Secretary