Select Page

Office of the Executive Governor

Click on Each Downward Arrow to View Details
About this page

This page consists of  the profile of the Governor, offices under the office and Past Governors.

The Executive Governor's Profile

The Executive Governor of Taraba State, Dr Agbu Kefas.

Dr. Agbu Kefas was born on 12 November 1970, in Wukari, Taraba State (formally Gongola State), Nigeria to the family of Mr. and Mrs. Kefas. His family is renowned for great strides and achievements in the military and public service. He is a product of some of the most reputable institutions of learning in Nigeria, namely; the Nigerian Defence Academy in Kaduna where he obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science and Defense Studies in 1994, the University of Ibadan in Oyo State, where he bagged a Masters Degree in Legal Criminology & Security Psychology in 2005 and the Delta State University, Abraka where he obtained a Masters Degree in Public Administration in 2008. Also, he has a number of prestigious Executive education certifications from global institutions like Harvard Kennedy School in US.

Dr. Agbu Kefas retired from the Nigerian army after 21 years of service. Upon his retirement, he was appointed chairman Governing board of directors Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) between 2013 and 2015.

He was also a member of the Presidential Committee on North-East Initiative from 2016 to 2019 before he fully joined politics by emerging the State Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Taraba State in 2020. In 2022, Dr. Agbu Kefas contested in the Taraba State PDP gubernatorial primary election and won. Kefas ran for office of the Governor of Taraba State in March 2023 as a member of the Peoples Democratic Party, the state’s ruling party. He won the election, defeating second-place Muhammad Yahaya of the Nigeria People’s Party by just 100,337 votes.

Dr. Agbu Kefas is married to Patience and they have four children.

Functions of the Office

1. The Governor’s office serves as the fulcrum upon which day to day administration of the state gyrates.

It coordinates and supervises implementation of policies and programmes within the length and breadth of the state through relevant MDA’s and ministries that converge at the Executive Council Chamber with the Governor as President in Council and the Commissioners as members.

2. The Governor’s office ensures judicious utilization of resources and development efforts of local government councils through the Joint Account (JAC)/Bureau for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

3. As Head of the Executive Arm, the Governor exercises some powers that directly affect both the legislative and judicial arms of government.

He monitors periodic reports of the House of Assembly and appoints Chairman and Commissioners of the House of Assembly Service Commission.

He convenes and dissolves the House of Assembly; the constitution confers on the governor, the veto on any bill of the state House of Assembly to ascent before it becomes law.

4. The Governor appoints the Chief Judge, Judges/ Khadis and other Judicial officers, based on recommendations of the Judicial Service Commission and the National Judicial Council as the case may require.

He has the powers of the prerogative of mercy conferred on him by the constitution.

5. He is the Visitor to the Taraba State University serving as ex-officio Chancellor.

Past Governors
1.Arc. Darius Dickson Ishaku 29th May 2015 - 29th May 2023
2.Alh. Sani Abubakar Danladi – 29th May 2015
3.Pharm. Danbaba Danfulani Suntai 29th May 2007 - October 2012
4.Rev. Jolly T. Nyame 29th May 1999 - 29th May 2007
5.Col. A.J Owoniyi August 1998 - May 1999
6.CP A.E Oyakhire August 1996 - August 1998
7.Col. Y.M Dickson December 1993 - August 1996
8.Rev. Jolly T. Nyame 2nd January 1992 - 18th January 1993
9.Navy Captain A.A Afolahan 27th August 1991 - 2nd January 1992

Departments Under the Governor's Office

Click on Each Downward Arrow to View Details
Office of the Chief of Staff

The current Chief of Staff is Hon. Dr. Jeji Williams.

Functions of the Office

1. Head of Government House Administration.
2. Chief of Operations.
3. Office Manager.
4. Chief Strategist.
5. Policy Adviser.
6. Gubernatorial Vica.
7. Guardian of the Palace.
8. Head Hunter.
9. Crisis Coordinator.
10. Personal confidant.
11. Any other responsibility as may be assigned by the Governor.

Previous Chiefs of Staff

Previous Chiefs of Staff

1.Hon. Rebo Usman EhwanMay 2015 – August 2018
2.Mallam Aminu Jika August 2014 – May 2015
3.Mr Garvey A. Yaweh January 2007 – August 2014
4.Hon. Danladi Tijos Baido June 2007 – December 2007
5.Mallam Aminu December 2003 – May 2007
6.Mr Pius B. Danba December 2000 – November 2003
7.Mr Joshua Kalla June 2000 – December 2000
Permanent Secretary – Government House

Mr. Chindo Audu

Chief Protocol to the Governor

Mr Kabiru Marafa

Personal Physician/Director Medical Services
Security – Chief Security Officer to the Governor
Chief Maintenance Officer
Chief Press Secretary to the Governor

Mr. Iliya Bekyu

Director – Finance
Transport Officer