Select Page

Ministry of Finance

Click on the Downward Arrow to View Details
About This Page

This page consists of all infomation about the Ministry of Finance ranging from its functions, present and past Commissioners, Present and past Permanent Secretaries and Agencies under the Ministry.

About the Ministry

The Ministry of Finance was established on 27th August, 1991 and is currently headed by Dr. Jesse A. Ashumate as Hon. Commissioner.


Functions/Achievements of the Ministry

Functions of the Ministry include;

  1. Advising the State Government on Fiscal Policies.
  2. Custodian of the State Finances.
  3. Liaising with Federal Government through the Federal Accounts Allocation
  4. Committee (FAAC) for Federal Allocation.
    Facilitate Loans and Grants as well as Debt serving.
  5. Procurement of Official vehicles and Stationeries.
  6. Facilitate Investments and Financial Securities, e.g. Bonds
    Controls the State’s Cash Flow.

Achievements of the Ministry

Achievements of the Ministry include;

  1. Successfully guided the state Government on Fiscal Policies.
  2. Facilitated State Government Investments.
  3. Supervised the Allocation of Revenue and Expenditure to Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).
  4. Have ensured delivery of Federal Allocations.
  5. Facilitated Loans and Grants to the State.
    Procured assorted vehicles and stationeries for use.
  6. Managed the State finances.
Agencies Under the Ministry

Agencies under the Ministry include:

  1. Agency for Community and Social Development (CSDP)
  2. State Board of Internal Revenue (BIR)
  3. Office of the Accountant General
The Honorable Commissioner

The Honorable Commissioner, Dr. Sarah Enoch Adi.

Profile coming soon.

The Permanent Secretary

Information coming soon.

Past Commissioners
Past Commissioners that served in the Ministry are represented in the table below;
1.Hon. Solomon Elisha (Budget & Planning)2015 - 2023
2.Dr. Adi Jesse Ashumate (Finance)2015 - 2023
3.Barr. Emmanuel H. Gowon-
4.Alh. Salad Shehu Ajuji-
5.Mr. Illiya D. Wanapiya-
6.Mr. Rabo Usman-
7.Mr. Bulus Maiyaki-
8.Mr. Danladi Baido23rd Nov 2005 - 4th Jan 2007
9.Alh. Abubakar Tutane15th Dec 2003 - 23rd Nov 2005
10.Alh. Ahmed Yusuf22nd Dec 2000 - 29th May 2003
11.Dr. Usman Ardo20th Oct 1997 - 29th May 1999
12.Mr. Ambumi Zik Sunday1st Feb 1994 - 20th Oct 1997
13.Alh. Idris Waziri27th Mar 1993 - 31st Nov 1993
14.Alh. Usman Kona30th Nov 1992 - 22nd Mar 1993
15.Alh. Ibrahim Kawo1st Feb 1992 - 23rd Nov 1992
Past Permanent Secretaries
Past Permanent Secretaries that served in the Ministry are represented in the Table below;
1.Habila Jamman
2.Lydia Ambituni
3.Alh. Hassan Adamu
24th March, 2009 – 31st August, 2010
4.Alh. Adamu M. Gassol 26th July, 2007 – 2010
5.Major Yazella
26th July, 2005 – 26th July, 2006
6.Asabe Maiangwa
18th April, 2001 – 26th February, 2004
7.I.I Kifasi
16th July, 1999 – April, 2001
8.Ibrahim Jauro 16th February – 9th November, 1999
9.D.D Elisha 18th February, 1998-29th January, 1999
10.Joshua R. Musa 20th October, 1997 – 18th February, 1998
11.D.D Elisha 31st December, 1996 – 20th October, 1997
12.Joshua R. Musa 31st November, 1993 – 30th January, 1994
13.Joseph Machoco 21st January, 1992 – 31st November, 1993
14.Timothy D. Ehi 27th August – 31st December, 1991