Select Page

Ministry of Rural Development

Click on the Downward Arrow to View Details
About This Page

This page consists of all infomation about the Ministry of Rural Development ranging from its functions, present and past Commissioners, Present and past Permanent Secretaries and Agencies under the Ministry.

About the Ministry

The Ministry of Rural Development was established in the Year 1996. It had its First Commissioner as Hon. Musa John in 1997 and Mr Guram Bawa as the Permanent Secretary in 1996.

The Ministry has had 13 Commissioners and 12 Permanent Secretary since its inception. Hon. Alexander Markus (Late) was the Commissioner until his demise.

The ministry has 6 Directors and 2 Parastatals under which it operates.

Functions/Achievements of the Ministry

Functions of the Ministry

  1. Provision of electricity to rural communities not connected to the National Grid.
  2. Empowerment of rural communities through skills development activities, micro-credit financing and participatory development strategies.
  3. Promotion of grassroots community participation in self-help projects in addition to provision of grants for self-help projects.
  4. Encouraging waste to wealth policies.
  5. Advising the Government on issues relating to all subject matters under the purview of the Ministry.

Achievements of the Ministry

  1. Purchase and Installation of 1 Nos MVA and 3 Nos 300KVA Transformer at Jalingo Airport.
  2. Purchase and Installation of 2 Nos transformer in Sunkani and 2 No of Transformer at B/Dutse.
  3. Rehabilitation of ITC line from Mararaba Kunini to Kunini Town.
  4. Installation of 4 Nos of Transformer at Bali.
  5. Smaji Hydro Power (SHP) Kakara Phase
  6. II Feasibility and Engineering design.
  7. Kakara Small Hydro Power.
Agencies Under the Ministry
  • Rural Electrification Board
  • Rural Access and Mobility Project Agency (RAMP).
The Honorable Commissioner

Information coming soon..

The Permanent Secretary

Information coming soon.

Past Commissioners
Past Commissioners that served in the Ministry are represented in the table below;
S/N Past Commissioners Duration
1.Alh. Julde Dauda Rilwan 2015
2.Alh. Hadi Lau 2014
3.Hon. Rebo Usman 2013
4.Alh. Iliya Lange 2013
5.Alh. Abubakar Tutare 2009
6.Alh. Musa Elwakili 2006
7.Hon. Steven Umar 2004
8.Hon. Habila Ahima 2004
9.Haj Batulu 2002
10.Alh. Ibrahim Dakka 2000
11.Hon. Musa John 1997
Past Permanent Secretaries
Past Permanent Secretaries that served in the Ministry are represented in the Table below;
S/NPast Permanent Secretaries Duration
1.Mr Saleh Mutum Biyu 2015
2.Mr Manu Gangumi 2010
3.Dr Muhammed 2008
4.Mr Zubairu Mai Dawa 2005
5.Mr Tukur Pate 2002
6.Mr David Tikon 2001
7.Samuel Madaki
8.Habu Sani Kona
9.Joseph Mochoko
10.Mr D. D Elisha