Select Page

Ministry of Works

Click on the Downward Arrow to View Details
About This Page

This page consists of all infomation about the Ministry of Works ranging from its functions, present and past Commissioners, Present and past Permanent Secretaries and Agencies under the Ministry.

About the Ministry

The Ministry of Works and Transport was established on 27th August, 1991 and is currently under the Leadership of Irimiya Hamman-Julde as Commissioner and Engr. Tanko K. Audu as Permanent Secretary.

Functions/Achievements of the Ministry

Functions of the Ministry

  1. Responsible for the Engineering concept of all Government roads, preparation of bills of quantity. Appraisal of Xander’s and Supervision of same by contract and/or direct labour.
  2. Mobilisation of human, material and financial resources for effective service delivery.
  3. Design, construction and maintenance of infrastructural facilities such as roads and airports.
  4. Coordinating land, air, and water transport activities.
  5. Running the Jalingo township taxi schemes.
  6. Plants and machinery acquisition, maintenance as well as certification of Government vehicles and disposal.
  7. Promoting safety of lives and properties on public roads, air and waterways.
  8. Provision of laboratory services for civil engineering works.
  9. Advice Government on issues relating to subject matters under the schedule of the Ministry.
  10. It has cabinet responsibility for its agencies.

Achievements of the Ministry

The Ministry has so far recorded the following achievements;

  1. Construction of Jalingo and Wukari Township roads.
  2. Construction of Jalingo –Sunkani-Garba Chede road.
  3. Reconstruction and rehabilitation of Bali-Serti-Gembu road.
  4. Construction of Jalingo-Kona dual carriage way.
  5. Construction of Jalingo-Katsina-Ala road, phase 1 6.5km.
  6. Construction on internal roads and drainages of Federal Medical Center, Jalingo.
  7. Connecting the State Airport to the National Grid.
  8. Installation of Solar Powered Street lights along Danbaba Suntai Road and Donga road in Jalingo metropolis.
  9. Improved awareness campaign on road traffic rules and regulations.
  10. Improved revenue generation through miscellaneous Road Traffic offences as compared to the previous records.
  11. Establishment of VIO Zonal/Area offices across the state.
  12. Purchase of different categories of vehicles and allocated to unemployed youths, Hon. Commissioners and Special Advisers on loan for empowerment.
  13. Construction of Modern Airport and purchase as well as Supply of Aircrafts which include;
    Donier 208,
    2Nos Embraer 145,
    Bell 147 (Helicopter), and 1 Cassina Caravan.
Agencies Under the Ministry
  1. Taraba State Road Construction and Maintenance Agency (TARCMA).
  2. Taraba State Transport Corporation (TSTC).
  3. Taraba State Motorcycle Monitoring Agency (TMMA).
The Honorable Commissioner
Commissioner Works

Commissioner of Works, Hon. Irimiya Ibrahim Hamman Julde.

Honorable Irimiya Ibrahim Hamman Julde is currently the Commissioner of the Taraba State Ministry of Works and Transportation.

He possesses a Bachelor’s degree in Education Management from the Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola and a National Certificate of Education in Library Science \ Social Studies from the College of Education, Jalingo.

He has contributed immensely to the well being of the people of Lau Local Government Area where he hails from through the construction of roads and provision of potable water.

Honorable Irimiya is a recipient of the Gold Award of excellent contribution to the community by the National Council for Women Societies, NCWS.

He also earned an award for outstanding commitment and contribution to promoting evangelism by the United Methodist Church of Nigeria, UMCN, women in 2017.

He has attended the following workshops:

Common Wealth Parliamentary Association, London, 2008.
Common Wealth Parliamentary Association, Kenya, 2010.
National Workshop on the review of revenue sharing formula towards constitutional amendment, Abuja,2008.

The Commissioner has held to following political appointments;

Elected Member, Taraba State House of Assembly, 2003 – 2011.
Care Taker Chairman, Lau Local Government Area, 2011 – 2012.
Member, Governing Board of the College of Education, Zing, 2012 – 2014.
Special Adviser to the Governor, 2017 – 2018.
He had his early education at the Katibu Primary School from 1973 to 1978 and Government Teachers’ College, Yola from 1979 to 1984.

Born on January 1st, 1963, he is married with five children and enjoys watching games and reading.

The Permanent Secretary

Engr. Tanko Kitere Audu, FNSE, FNICE, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Works

Engr. Tanko Kitere Audu, FNSE, FNICE, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Works

Engr. Tanko Kitere Audu, FNSE, FNICE was born on 6th January 1960 and hails from Takum L.G.A. He is married with Four children.

Engr. Tanko began his educational pursuit at L.E.ATakum East Primary School between 1968 – 1970; Methodist Primary School, Constitution Road Kaduna between 1971 – 1973; and Roman Catholic Primary School, Kuru GTTS 1973 – 1974 respectively. He enrolled into Saint Joseph College, Vom Plateau State from 1974 – 1979 after which he proceeded to School of Basic Studies, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria and obtained a Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Engineering from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria between 1980 – 1984.

His Professional Achievements include:

  • Registered Engineer with the Council for Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN).
  • Member, Board of Trustee of Nigeria Association of Public Highway and Transportation Officials (NAPHTO).
  • Fellow of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (FNSE).
  • Fellow of the Nigerian Institution of Civil Engineers (FNICE).

Workshops attended by Engr. Tanko includes;

  • Team Building in Management, Southampton U.K 2010.
  • Asphalt Recycling Initiatives, Chicago USA 2011.
  • African Infrastructures Conferences, Washington DC 2012.
  • Innumerable Workshops/Seminars by NSE, COREN, TechGrade Consultants and others every year spanning for over 30 years.
Past Commissioners
Past Commissioners that served in the Ministry are represented in the table below;
1.Dr. Tafarki Agbadu Eneme 2015 – 2018
2.Iliyasu Goje
3.Mr. Danfulani Kwetaka
4.Mr. Danfulani Kwetaka
5.Mrs. Maryati -
6.Barr. Gibon Kataps
7.Mr. Audu Tikon
8.Alh. Abubakar Tutare
9.Mr. Bulus Maiyaki
10.Engr. Ahmed Yusuf Gamaliya-
11.Alh. Iliyasu Goje
12.Engr. Yahaya Mafindi
13.Engr. Bello Yahaya
14.Mr. Anthony Jellason
15.Alh. Zakari Ibrahim Adinbo-
Past Permanent Secretaries
Past Permanent Secretaries that served in the Ministry are represented in the Table below;
1.Alh. Bakari Usman Sukare
2.Alh. Usman Madu
3.Engr. Tanko K. Audu
4.Alh. Umar Ibrahim Wazir
5.Mr. Habila Jaman-
6.Mr. Ephraimu Kifasi
7.Alh. Ajuja Karim
8.Mrs. Esther M. Baraya
9.Engr. D.D Elisha
10.Alh. Adamu D. Ibrahim-
11.Mr. Ibrahim Jauro
12.Mr. Ambuno Zik Sunday
13.Alh. Abubakar Gidado -