Select Page

Ministry of Works & Infrastructure Development

Click on the Downward Arrow to View Details
About This Page

This page consists of all infomation about the Ministry of Works (now Works & Infrastructure Development) ranging from its functions, present and past Commissioners, Present and past Permanent Secretaries and Agencies under the Ministry.

About the Ministry

The Ministry of Works (now Works & Infrastructure Development) was established on 27th August, 1991.

Functions/Achievements of the Ministry

Functions of the Ministry

  1. Responsible for the Engineering concept of all Government roads, preparation of bills of quantity. Appraisal of Xander’s and Supervision of same by contract and/or direct labour.
  2. Mobilisation of human, material and financial resources for effective service delivery.
  3. Design, construction and maintenance of infrastructural facilities such as roads and airports.
  4. Coordinating land, air, and water transport activities.
  5. Running the Jalingo township taxi schemes.
  6. Plants and machinery acquisition, maintenance as well as certification of Government vehicles and disposal.
  7. Promoting safety of lives and properties on public roads, air and waterways.
  8. Provision of laboratory services for civil engineering works.
  9. Advice Government on issues relating to subject matters under the schedule of the Ministry.
  10. It has cabinet responsibility for its agencies.

Achievements of the Ministry

The Ministry has so far recorded the following achievements;

  1. Construction of Jalingo and Wukari Township roads.
  2. Construction of Jalingo –Sunkani-Garba Chede road.
  3. Reconstruction and rehabilitation of Bali-Serti-Gembu road.
  4. Construction of Jalingo-Kona dual carriage way.
  5. Construction of Jalingo-Katsina-Ala road, phase 1 6.5km.
  6. Construction on internal roads and drainages of Federal Medical Center, Jalingo.
  7. Connecting the State Airport to the National Grid.
  8. Installation of Solar Powered Street lights along Danbaba Suntai Road and Donga road in Jalingo metropolis.
  9. Improved awareness campaign on road traffic rules and regulations.
  10. Improved revenue generation through miscellaneous Road Traffic offences as compared to the previous records.
  11. Establishment of VIO Zonal/Area offices across the state.
  12. Purchase of different categories of vehicles and allocated to unemployed youths, Hon. Commissioners and Special Advisers on loan for empowerment.
  13. Construction of Modern Airport and purchase as well as Supply of Aircrafts which include;
    Donier 208,
    2Nos Embraer 145,
    Bell 147 (Helicopter), and 1 Cassina Caravan.
Agencies Under the Ministry
  1. Taraba State Road Construction and Maintenance Agency (TARCMA).
  2. Taraba State Transport Corporation (TSTC).
  3. Taraba State Motorcycle Monitoring Agency (TMMA).
The Honorable Commissioner

The Honorable Commissioner, Comrade Noseh Luka.

Profile coming soon.

The Permanent Secretary

Engr. Tanko Kitere Audu, FNSE, FNICE, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Works

Engr. Tanko Kitere Audu, FNSE, FNICE, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Works

Engr. Tanko Kitere Audu, FNSE, FNICE was born on 6th January 1960 and hails from Takum L.G.A. He is married with Four children.

Engr. Tanko began his educational pursuit at L.E.ATakum East Primary School between 1968 – 1970; Methodist Primary School, Constitution Road Kaduna between 1971 – 1973; and Roman Catholic Primary School, Kuru GTTS 1973 – 1974 respectively. He enrolled into Saint Joseph College, Vom Plateau State from 1974 – 1979 after which he proceeded to School of Basic Studies, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria and obtained a Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Engineering from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria between 1980 – 1984.

His Professional Achievements include:

  • Registered Engineer with the Council for Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN).
  • Member, Board of Trustee of Nigeria Association of Public Highway and Transportation Officials (NAPHTO).
  • Fellow of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (FNSE).
  • Fellow of the Nigerian Institution of Civil Engineers (FNICE).

Workshops attended by Engr. Tanko includes;

  • Team Building in Management, Southampton U.K 2010.
  • Asphalt Recycling Initiatives, Chicago USA 2011.
  • African Infrastructures Conferences, Washington DC 2012.
  • Innumerable Workshops/Seminars by NSE, COREN, TechGrade Consultants and others every year spanning for over 30 years.
Past Commissioners
Past Commissioners that served in the Ministry are represented in the table below;
1.Arch. Hon. Aliyu Paschal Sunday Dankaro (Housing)2015 - 2023
2.Hon. Irimiya Ibrahim Hamman Julde (Works)2018 - 2023
3.Dr. Tafarki Agbadu Eneme 2015 – 2018
4.Iliyasu Goje
5.Mr. Danfulani Kwetaka
6.Mr. Danfulani Kwetaka
7.Mrs. Maryati -
8.Barr. Gibon Kataps
9.Mr. Audu Tikon
10.Alh. Abubakar Tutare
11.Mr. Bulus Maiyaki
12.Engr. Ahmed Yusuf Gamaliya-
13.Alh. Iliyasu Goje
14.Engr. Yahaya Mafindi
15.Engr. Bello Yahaya
16.Mr. Anthony Jellason
17.Alh. Zakari Ibrahim Adinbo-
Past Permanent Secretaries
Past Permanent Secretaries that served in the Ministry are represented in the Table below;
1.Alh. Bakari Usman Sukare
2.Alh. Usman Madu
3.Engr. Tanko K. Audu
4.Alh. Umar Ibrahim Wazir
5.Mr. Habila Jaman-
6.Mr. Ephraimu Kifasi
7.Alh. Ajuja Karim
8.Mrs. Esther M. Baraya
9.Engr. D.D Elisha
10.Alh. Adamu D. Ibrahim-
11.Mr. Ibrahim Jauro
12.Mr. Ambuno Zik Sunday
13.Alh. Abubakar Gidado -